Invitation

IMG_1988

After 9 months of anxiety, I finally received my invitation to serve with the Peace Corps in Peru as a Youth Development Facilitator. I was invited and I accepted the offer.

I have yet to feel excitement as my departure date is not until the middle of August. However, I am more than satisfied. This is something that I have wanted for a very long time. The last thing I wanted this bad was my big move to Istanbul.

I also have to say that I am rather proud of myself. Over the last couple of years, the Peace Corps has gotten increasingly competitive. This past year approximately 17,000 applicants apply for about 3,500 positions. Peru also has the reputation of being one of the most competitive of the 68 Peace Corps countries. Apparently, 445 people applied to the same Youth Development Facilitator position I did with only 14 positions available.

Since accepting, I have a long laundry list of assignments, medical appointments, and legal documents I have to fill out before leaving. I will be relieved when all of it is out of the way and reality finally sets in.

Until next time.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh, congrats! I served in Peru 2012-2014 as a community health educator. It’s a beautiful country, you’re going to love it!

    Like

    1. bwhite1290 says:

      Thanks! I’m still in disbelief that I got it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. meiyan2014 says:

    Yes! Congratulations, ma’am! We’ll be serving around the same time, so it will be fun keeping up with your journey. I never really had a desire to join the Peace Corps, but it kind of happened. It’s a good thing I didn’t know how competitive the positions were because I’m sure my nerves would have gotten to me.

    Like

  3. lacalaw2 says:

    Congratulations! Like two ships passing in the night I was departing Peru when you were set to arrive. Actually we were there on the same the day, the 19th thru 21st. Haha! I am having fun reading your blog. Can you tell?

    Like

    1. bdwhite says:

      Wow that’s crazy! Thanks for reading the blog though. Its one of my favorite things to do to process my life here so I’m glad you can appreciate it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

