My Narrative as an Afro-Latina Peace Corps Volunteer

I don’t usually re-blog but this is a deep post from an Afro Latina sister who served in Nicaragua.

Travel Latina

After only being back in the States for a few weeks, I was planning on writing something nostalgic to express what my Peace Corps service has done for me and what it symbolizes in my life because it has truly been a life-changing, and eye-opening experience that I will never forget. I’ve made the most amazing friends and long lasting relationships with Nicaraguans and Americans. Sadly, however, the first thing that I’m going to write about is the present, heartbreaking reality that is weighing on me: our society needs a huge change.

I recently posted a picture of some friends and I standing in solidarity in response to the violence and systematic-mass killings that have taken place against people of color in the United States. For Peace Corps Volunteers (PCV’s) of color worldwide, it is painful to watch what is happening from abroad, and frustrating because we feel so helpless…

View original post 889 more words

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Her post was very good!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    1. bdwhite says:

      Wasn’t it?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

