Thanks for Choosing Me – I’m Headed to D.C.

I love writing this blog and sharing fun anecdotes and Peruvian culture with you dear readers. It really has been one of the most fulfilling parts of my service thus far. To be honest, I think the main reason why I joined Peace Corps is because ever since I was little I have always been interested in learning about other cultures – just ask my parents. So to be recognized as a finalist in the Office of Third Goal’s blog initiative as a finalist was such a dream come true. And to be selected as one of the winners and have the opportunity to travel to Washington, D.C. to share my love for intercultural understanding is just the sweetest cherry on top of a delicious sundae – And let’s make that a brownie sundae from Friendly’s because I day dream about eating one far too often.

I want to say thank you to anyone and everyone who voted for me during the Facebook voting round. We came out on top at over 1600 votes – imagine that! I have less than 400 friends on that social media platform and because of you all, you helped me to be numero uno! It was almost overwhelming to feel that much love and support from all the people who have been in my life (and maybe I even shed a little tear). So thank you to my family, especially my parents, to whom I’m sure I gave mini strokes when I said I was once again moving abroad. Thanks to my friends, friends of friends, old educators back home who helped give me that extra push during the voting. Thank you to my wonderful network of PCV friends who are always there for me for the highs and lows of my service, thank you to the beyond amazing Peace Corps Peru staff whose support always motivates and encourages me to be a better PCV, and thank you to mi Perú because although sometimes you are hard on me, you are giving me the experience of a lifetime and making me a better person each day.

Today marks one year since arriving in this country and starting this wild adventure with nothing but a bunch of strangers and a hope that all would work itself out and right now, I just feel nothing but gratitude. Again, thank you all so very much.

See you in two months, America.

P.S. check out the shout out the US Embassy in Peru gave me on their Facebook page!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

