Gratitude & Photos: Blog It Home 2016

Wow! Long time, no blog! Life got a little busy (and crazy) these past couple of weeks but have no fear ‘cause my Blog It Home post is here.

Many of you, my dear readers, know that about 3 weeks ago I was in Washington, D.C. for a week full of events coordinated by the Peace Corps Office of the Third Goal. And, man, I don’t think I’ll ever really be able to express how amazing it was. Throughout the entire time, I just kept thinking to myself how incredibly privileged I was to be able to take part in such a productive, meaningful week.  I met everyone from the inspiring Office of Third Goal Staff to the seven other talented bloggers, Girl Scouts, White House Staffers, DC public school students, and current Peace Corps applicants and I can honestly say that there was never a moment where I didn’t feel pure gratitude.

Gratitude because not only was I able to share my experiences in Peru but I was able to learn about other beautiful countries like Samoa, Kyrgyzstan, Guyana, and Madagascar. I learned that I love dried Mongolian milk curds called aaruul, that in Ethiopia they drink their coffee with salt, and that my favorite Guyanese creole saying is “Me Nuh Able.” If any of you are reading this, I appreciate every single one of you and I am so happy to have met you. Thanks for taking my global citizenship game to the next level.

14612638_10153790761995981_3062167981677325106_o

Gratitude, again, for being inspired by the Peace Corps staff who not only coordinated all of these events but who also took care of us for the entire week. The American snacks (shout out to the York Peppermint Patties) and coffee were always flowing and whenever we needed something as little as a sweater to stay warm (this Bagua heat has ruined me) or lotion, it was there.  And when I needed it most, I had a hug and sympathy which meant the world to me. Thank you all for sharing you service stories, passion, and love for cross cultural connection with each and every one of us. You all deserve awards and I will never forget this week.

And finally gratitude because this experience brought me home to my family and friends. Thanks Dad for hanging out with me in the beginning of the week (too bad we missed a movie opportunity!) Thanks Mom, Aunt Marissa and Grandma for coming down. I’m sorry, it didn’t turn out the way we planned but I’m happy you were there. And thank you Vanessa for driving down and spending the night with me even on your crazy law school schedule.

So with all that being said, check out some pics from my unforgettable experience in D.C.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

