26 Pictures From 2016

Wow. Long time, no blog. Seriously, I think this is the longest time I have gone without posting – I suppose every writer is allowed writers block right? Anyway,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I spent this holiday season in the States with my family and without the Peruvian Christmas tradition of paneton (ask me if I’m sad about it). Between being sucked into the black hole of cable television and stuffing my face with copious amounts of food, I arranged my pictures from this past year. It was a nice was to reflect and go over some of the memories I made in 2016. Now I’m no Bukhtawer (check out how 2016 went for her in Ethiopia) but I try to be the best iPhone 5c photographer I possibly can be. So check out some of my faves from the last twelve months – 2016, you were one for the books.

kuelap-horse
A horse ride up to ancient ruins, why not?
kuelap-fotress
Patterns designs at Kuelap
el-muyo-amazonas
The green abundance of my province
wayco
A lesson learned about traveling after it rains
pisco-sour
When site lets you down, go to Lima and unwind with a Peruvian classic.
mangos
What is life if it’s not mango season?
img_0204
A dreamy sunset on the Northern coastal beaches
peace-corps-waiting-game
What is Peace Corps if you’re not waiting a seemingly endless amount of time for transportation?
lake-pomacochas
Transportation by any means necessary
amazonas-peru-hummingbird
Beautiful Amazonas
el-carmen-chincha
Feeling the  Black girl magic in Chincha
festejo-dancer
Without music, there is no Chincha.
dunes-huacachina
Getting lost in desert dunes
raymi-llaqta-dancing
Ladies getting in formation
raymi-llaqta-dancing-2
A step horse and his dancer
hay-vida
There is life.
arequipa-church
A church carved from volcanic rock
arequipa-street
The cleanest big city streets you’ll ever find in Peru, you’ll find in Arequipa.
laguna-de-las-momias
Ten hours on horseback yielded this view.
laguna-de-la-momias
Me and other friends on a journey
bagua-capital-amazonas-plaza
The center of town
peru-tourist
When the opportunity to be a tourist comes a knockin’, you answer.
immaculate-conception-parade-lima-3
There is always a reason to have a parade in Peru.
immaculate-conception-parade-lima-2
Pink pride parade
immaculate-conception-parade-lima
In motion, in line, in sync
Leave a Reply

